top of page

Successfully Vaccinated with 1st dose...

Everyone is struggling to get a slot for vaccination. So did we. My parents have been vaccinated but my appa wasn’t relieved because I had to go back to the college as soon as the Lockdown is lifted. Thanks to the companies which are providing slots to their employees and their families like Infosys.


As my BIL and I were supposed to be vaccinated, I tried everywhere possible to get a slot but I found no luck. My sister works at Infosys and they were providing the vaccinations at their main offices like Mangalore, Bangalore etc.


As it was the last day for filling vaccination slots, Anu hurrily booked the slots to us for 4th of June, 2021 at 11:00 AM, which was 2 days later from the date we booked our slots. 4th was a Friday and I had just 2 subjects to attend in the morning.

On 4th, my BIL had travelled from his home to ours early in the morning. Though he came by car, he still took bath before meeting his baby, then we had our breakfast and we started from our place by 9:30AM. Another problem which happened was my Amma’s sim had died and even that had to be renewed in Mangalore. Mangalore would shut down by 10, so we started quick. But to our bad luck, we couldn’t get the new sim, as the sim holder wasn’t with us. Having no luck there, we travelled to Infosys, Kottara where we were supposed to be vaccinated just couple of minutes before our slots. We had to travel in the long routes, as there were barricades after the stipulated time. But we were happy that we were able to reach on time.

We parked in the parking lot, ran inside the building as per the security guard’s instructions. Before we entered the main building, we had to give our details in the security office for their record. Once done, we entered the office. It was a neat, clean and a well maintained office and the rules were followed. We gave our details and collected our tokens from the main desk and waited in the lobby for them to announce our token number. To be frank, I was a bit anxious. My friend who was vaccinated had high fever, body pain, nausea. Seeing her I thought, I will definitely be sick for a week. As I was immersed in my thoughts and class, they called our number. I tried encouraging myself as I didn’t want my BIL to tease me that I was a Darpokk for the next 6 months as he loves to name me with variety of anything and everything. We went into a room where they collected our data and uploaded on the website. Later they wrote us a vaccination card which we had to carry inside the vaccination room. After receiving the card, we were asked to wait in the waiting room until our names were called. We waited patiently.

After 5 minutes or so, we were asked to follow a nurse into a room. We were 6 in a room. 2 nurses from KMC hospital were there to vaccinate us. They briefed about the vaccination we were taking, the consequences which might follow after we got our shots, the precautions to be taken very patiently and answered our queries too. Once done, My BIL was to get his shot and I jumped on feet to click. His expression had really scared me. Then I was to take my shot and I was so lost in instructing my jiju about how I need my pics, nurse had given me my shot. I laughed at her when she told I was done. But as I didn’t have a proper pic, she told she would help me by posing again, which she did too. Later we were instructed that we were supposed to wait in the Observation area for about 30 minutes to avoid any major consequences. As my BIL and I were chilling in the observation, we spoke about things which we didn’t concern about. He had started getting slight hand pain but I was fine, which surprised me. After our observation time, we were out again on wheels and reached home sooner.

Few of my classmates were affected by Corona, who are absolutely fine now. My other friend who was vaccinated on the day I was vaccinated, suffered from high fever, body ache and few other symptoms. Few other friends who were vaccinated recently also had slight fever and hand pain. Out of all the people I know who were vaccinated, my bro Vi and I were the only two who were fine even after taking the vaccination. Waiting for the second dose to take and then a big time relief to all of us.

Vaccination is important, my friends and I learnt after our dear ones got affected by corona and how they struggled to keep them fine. There is nothing to be scared of vaccination, a day or two of fever and hand pain can be handled by anyone rather suffering if we actually get one.


Like my friends once said, “Shut up and take the vaccination, it is better to have the vaccination rather the real virus in the body!


Thats it for this week.


Until next week.


Cheerios!!

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Venkatesh Sharma
Venkatesh Sharma
Jan 24, 2022

Hey! i don't see your posts these days? where are you?

Like
bottom of page