top of page
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter

Is she not Shaamu anymore??But whyy!!

Updated: Jan 27, 2022

For the last few days, I was running all over Gandhi Bazaar over-excited, not because I was in Bengaluru but because I had to go home for some function!

So first I went to balloon shop to buy various kinds of balloon and other things, and went to a sweet stall for sweets & snacks. That day I was so tired with shopping that I had to come back to my room and finish chores.

Next day was Friday, again went to Gandhi Bazar to buy flowers, snacks to Appa and few other items. Then I came back and ran to my cousin’s place all packed for the next day travel. Once I reached, I made up few calls, cooked at 10.30 PM finished food by 11.30PM and went to sleep by 1.

The day my cousin and I next woke up by 4 in the morning, got ready and my neighbour came to pick us. Within an hour we were hitting the roads! About that journey, I will tell in my up coming blogs. By 3PM my cousin and I reached my sister’s place. I was so scared that I directly went to bath. Before I went to Shaami’s place,I was scared that she might have forgotten me. But after bath when I went near her and took her in my arms she smiled and kept her head on my shoulder. It was such a satisfying moment to me!! That is her way of showing that she remembered me. I wish I could have those moments captured; the way she came to my arms, the way she laughed seeing me, the way she kept her face on my shoulder, the way she stretched her little arms to hug me, the way she did not go to other’s hand when she was in mine. It was such a relief. It was such a happy moment! That day, whole night we did so much work that we didn’t even have a proper sleep.

Sunday usually is a lazy day. But to us it was a BIG day!! WHY?? It was kunja’s Annaprashana ( a ritual where the babies finally get to eat rice!). As Muhurtha was early in the morning by 6.30, we woke up at 5 and got ready, where Kunju and I were twinning ( My Amma stitched the dresses). Shaami and I are usually treated equally, but that day Amma had stitched us twinning dress but without a flower on my dress, that is a heart breaking scene, Oki!! Kunju and I were twinning, Amma and Anu were twinning and Appa and my cousin were accidentally twinning. I am just waiting for the photos to come into our hands. It was such a nice triple twinning!!

The function had started , we fed Shaamu with much of sweets who was curiously wondering what’s all happening around her!! We have ritual that when a baby starts to crawl, they keep variety of things in front of the baby and whichever item is touched by the baby, they say it that the baby will grow up in the similar field. Amma says, Anu had touched Pen and I had taken the Book. Kunju to our surprise took the pen first and touched my book, Ikigai next. I was so happy seeing my little girl touching both the things I love!! She had ligit ignored other things like, gold, clothes, knife, money, god’s idol or toys!! She was only with her Pen and the Book!!


Later we went for the decoration part and Kunju went for her baby nap. It is so peaceful to see her sleeping!! Then she woke up, took her 2nd round baby bath and changed her dress, so did we. After our decoration, Sathyanarayana Pooja was also arranged at home. Later came the main segment!! The naming ceremony; the function for what I had roamed around the Bazar. And we named her!! ❤️RIDHI ❤️ . To the wonderers, RIDHI means someone who brings good fortune and prosperity!!

It so much fits! She has brought a lot of happiness, luck, fortune into our homes!! Yea we now officially call her as Ridhi baby, but will forever be Shaamu, gunda, gumputta, Kunju, cookie boo, cucumber etc etc..


Coming to the gifting!! We showered her with many gifts and she was so happy seeing the toys, dress and other things she got. But she held on to her doll through out and was happily playing. Once the rituals were done, I took her and went to the place we had decorated her name with balloons and started posing for photos!! Once they are out, I will again post the photos with the stories behind each of them. After a lot of posing and clicks, we went to lunch.


Once done with food, I went to click photos with Ammamma and later it was the family photo time. It was already evening and most of the people had left. My cousin who wanted to leave on the same day stayed back seeing Kunju. We played until Cookie went to sleep.


Shaami has grown a centimetre more now.

Kunju stands with the help of someone.

Cookie sits on the sofa and on laps.

Gunda crawls and completes a circle.

Ridhi is added to her name list too.



But she will be my child.

But she will be the little princess of our home.

But she will be the same baby who came to our home on the third day, all wrapped upon white.

But she will forever be called as Shaami❤️


RIDHI is her name. SHAAMI is an emotion

❤️❤️❤️❤️


From,

Your Nimo❤️

To,

My all-time favourite❤️


With loads and loads of love and some more🙂

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page