top of page

My mom is a wonder woman!!

Updated: Jan 27, 2022

Everyones’ moms are superheros, but mine is a Wonder Woman!! Why?

Here is why!!


She was the the first of 6 kids; youngest two being her brothers.

She has 2 kids; younger one being awfully naughty since her birth.

She lived in a house full of people and cooked for all even at her 8th month of pregnancy.

She learnt to stitch and other crafts from her mother and others.

She worked in her teens whereas I am still studying in my twenties.

And the list continues…


Today I will tell you all a small story of my amma about how she learnt to drive.

A decade and half ago, we moved to a new house. We were only 3 living at new place. My amma is a social person. She had associated herself with varieties of activities, such as having their own self help group for women, putting up stalls and exhibition once a year, conducting tailoring classes to women and many more. She has engaged herself in most of the things she liked and Appa never said no. After we moved in to a new house, she had a little more time and tried to do little more things until one day she felt that she had to learn to drive. In the year 2010, she first went to her driving class near by and took all her 24 classes. She did envy driving and gave her test and she passed tough she had no faith that she would!! She was so happy that day!!



Later she encouraged my Appa, who was at his 40s to learn driving. My Appa being a quick learner, learnt to drive within 14 classes of his and the remaining classes were taken by my amma again. Now that both my parents know to drive, they bought a second hand car as they felt they had to practice enough before they buy a new one. Amma drives the car along with Appa but unfortunately, one day a truck hit the car when amma was driving and amma even today still fears to drive.

Then came another chapter of her life where my amma was inspired by her own sister who is a Sangeetha teacher and was jealous of the kindergarten teacher who learnt it when her husband didn’t agree to teach her anymore as he was tired teaching. That was when she decided to call up her brothers and asked to get her a scooter, at the age of 45+. As soon as they did, amma called one of our neighbour boy and asked him to teach her. He taught her for 5 6 days and boom!! My amma learnt it in no time. She appeared for DL test, cleared it and its been 5 years that she roams around with her Ray-z, almost everywhere. She didn’t stop right there, she inspired her friends to drive, and most of them ride now.

A funny story in between all these is that,My amma took my sister’s driving classes and my 14 classes too. Con of being the youngest in the family is that your family won’t allow you to drive, especially if you’re the most mischievous one. So here I am, having both my DL and tons of confidence but what to do!! They don’t let you practice.

I know we are a old school family amma

I know you will make every extra time and efforts to just read all blogs

I know you will find a lot words and sentences to be corrected in the whole blog, like always

I know you scold me for including some of your secrets

I know you will still serve me with more ladles of veggie, though I hate them

I know you don’t like non fried paneer and pizza

I know I have let you down!

But here is what Akka and I never usually tell you



We love you!!

We love you for scolding us

We love you for being a tough mom

We love you though we were super stubborn at time

We love you for going through turbulences for us and still loving us


We love you even after our heated arguments

We love you even after you cried cos of us

We love you for taking stands in front of the public

We love you for taking extra time to my read the blogs or write akka’s engineering reports

We love you for standing still as a rock after ajja left us

We love you and Thank you!!😍🙏



Here is to all the mothers across

Your kids love you no matter what

You are your kid’s first hero

You are your kid’s strength

You are everything you kids need


Happy mother’s day to all the amazing souls out there!


P.S:

Hi Anu mommy,😜

You are my second mom!! And you are the best one too, Shami is lucky to have you :)

Though you get less time for me as Kunju needs more attention!

I love you!!



Love and Love,

Papachi😊


Note to amma:

Thank you amma for sharing your internet to publish this blog apart from you having your session ☺️☺️



180 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page