top of page

Why I love books?!

My whole family is filled with Bibliophiles! Is that even a word? It is and it fits into my family pretty well!!


My amma is a homemaker and she finds time to read Kannada books, magazines, newspaper and everything that can be read. Not only that she writes articles and stories too out of which few have been published.

My Appa, a retired person, spends hours of his morning and evening reading newspapers and articles over his phone. He has also written poems dedicating towards his friends during their retirement and gifted to them!!

Then my sister, a combo of both my parents, she reads a lot of novels, writes articles, blogs, stories, poems and held the “Family of Books” name high.

Not only these, my grandparents, my cousins-their parents are all readers and writers

Yes!! Like I said…My whole family is filled with Bibliophiles and we all have the disease called as xenagorabibliomania (obsessive curiosity about the books that strangers read in open spaces)

I have no clue why they all started reading. But I remember why I started reading books.


Ever since I learnt how to read and write, I have always been gifted with books; when I was a kid, I got all the Kannada books like, Dinakkondu Kathe, Neethi Kathe, Ramayana, Mahabharatha, Sahasa kathegalu and lot more every year and even till today I either receive books or money..


I was in class 5 when I moved to CBSE straight from Kannada medium. I had no knowledge of English but everyone around me were a pro. I had to fit in there before I had an exsistential crisis. That was when I started to read in English! I had literally started from scratch to read, I took the books which told me how to use articles, verbs etc.I read them all in my class 6, I know others kids would make fun, but I wanted to do it.

Then by the time I completed my 10th, I had finished, Famous Five, A to Z mysteries and few more series. I don’t know about others, but I was proud.

Then I came to PU and I chose to live in hostel. I felt quite alone due to the surroundings to which I would usually be with my cousin, until one day;


That day my cousin was alone in her room and me and one of my friend decided to sleep with her that day. She had a book called ‘The Backbenchers. She had to return it to her friend next day, I liked the book and started reading by 11, I completed the book in a single session. It was 4 in the morning but I had completed the book


That was a kick start to my journey of Novels, That year I read a lot of books, scribbled small poems and everything, but 1 book which I will Neve forget is ‘LIFE IS WHAT YOU MAKE IT’ That book wasa new Turing point towards life. It picked me up from where my life had left and I can go so on. This book also made me a winner of “Bookstagram” at a national level fest about which I have written a blog already!! If not, check out How did I win something that I loved to do!!


I can read all kinds books except Self Help Books. I have different kinds of self help books like, Manase Relax Please, The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari, Who will Cry When You die, Life’s Amazing Secrets, So you can win, The Secret, Ikigai, and few more

But I could never read any of them until now except Ikigai because I had to submit an assignment on that book.


Earlier, I could read 2 to 3 books at a time and not get confused with each other’s plots- This was my super power.

I have Read a whole book in a day, at night, during a travel, when I am most hurt, when I am happiest etc.. I love books to that extent.

I have cried reading the books like, The last lecture, Revolution 2020, Till the last breath, The seal of Surya, Behind closed doors, Things fall apart (It was my subject in my 2nd year B.Com and cried in class when my lecturer taught the ending!) etc..


2 books for which I took forever to finish was Mugida Yudda’(SHIVAARAM KAARANTH) and 'Parva' (S L BHAIRAPPA)… But I made sure I finished it within a month..

My mood depends on the books I read, the plots they have sketched, and people have had a very hard time convincing that the characters will be fine..


My parents never said no to books. The only one thing I ever asked my parents while building the new house was my room with a big book shelf and they did it for me. We at home have a policy, who buys the book, owns it!! So we have around 200 books and some more where I might own around 75-90!!


Every book is a new hope but every book has the same nostalgic smell

Every book gives new view to life, but every book says ‘live a lilttle more’

Every book has different characters, but every character says ‘ struggle is real and you gotta deal’

Every book is love, but every book is LIFE…



Until next week!!


Cheerios!!





P.S : I genuinely wanted to add all my favourites, but I linking them is real difficult task. So saving it for another time. Hope you will understand :)


Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Satya Nandini A
Satya Nandini A
May 16, 2021

A very nice habit of reading books. They are the best friends. Keep it up.

Like
Nirupama K. N.
Nirupama K. N.
May 17, 2021
Replying to

Thank you so much ma'am !

Yes ma'am, definitely 😊

Like
bottom of page