top of page

How did I win something that I loved to do!!

I never thought I would like something and it would get me over my low phases. Books!! Books!! Books!!! I was never a reader. I would just read some short stories or such that too only in Kannada.

I joined CBSE School in 5th std where Kannada books were hardly available in the school library and they encouraged us to read a lot of English book. But I had been to CBSE directly from Kannada School, with no English background. I still remember my first ever English sentence ‘ No one also did not tell me know, yesterday’ where I meant 'none had informed the previous day about some stuff to be bought to school'. My first unit test mark in English was 3 out of 25. Yeah!! I was that dumb.


Then I slowly started reading kid's books and series like A to Z mysteries, Famous Five etc. Trust me, it took me all 4 years to complete 24 books of A to Z mysteries. My library ma’am was so kind that, she would lend me extra consecutive weeks to complete the books. But all those were in the school life. Later when I joined hostel for my PUC, I had the feeling of insecurity. It was a different city, new people, none I knew. So to drive that feeling away, I would borrow books from my cousin and read it. I still remember borrowing a novel on Sunday night, after 10.30pm and sitting to read the book. The book was ‘ The backbenchers’ by Sidharth Oberoi. I went on reading until I finished the books. It was around 4.00am when I read the last page. I still remember sleeping in class next day and getting scoldings, but you know its all worth it by the end of the day. That was how it all started


Jhenkaar was a famous fest in and around my college area. It was a national level fest by a famous college.


In my third year, when our college didn’t approve for this fest, my friend and I came up with an idea, that was participating in the competitions which didn’t need the college name and which were held online. The only competition which was in that category was Bookstagram 2k19-20. My friend and I were book lovers. So it was icing on cake for us. But the problem was pinning the photo along with a limited word paragraph about why we chose the book and what made us like it over other books.


I had literally forced all my friends to write. But none were ready to pose. So somehow we clicked the photos and all 3 of us finally submitted it. Then with zero expectation we were continuously forcing our lecturer to get the permission to the fest. It was a 2 day 1 night fest, that was why we all wanted to go. We wanted to get out of college, wanted to spend a night with all friends, have lot fun and experience. So we did have by the end of the fest too.

We had no clue when the results would be out. As books are always my lifelines, I had pored my heart into that tiny article. Usually what happens is, as I live in rural area, sometimes there is networks and internet cut off. So it happened on the day of result. I had been home a little late that day and my friend had called my father to inform about how I had bagged the second place. It was such a surprising moment to all of us!! It not only made our ‘going to the fest permission’ confirm, but also a hope that I could win over anything that I really like doing.


I am rarely found that happy in life, but that day I was. I still remember going there where my friends were shouting and clapping. I received a plant, book and cash prize.


This was a new experience to me. I had never thought I would win a prize for something which I loved doing. I started reading books to stop feeling insecure in school, then to stop feeling out space in college, then to lift up my mood, then for time pass in holidays, and now to get a break. To me, books mean pretty much a lot. One can always find a book or a kindle in my bag or car, wherever I travel. Its now a ritual more than habits.


Any book lovers?leave a comment below your favourite book and why you love them, let’s have good conversation.


Thats it for this time.


Cheerios!


Until next time!!

Recent Posts

See All

1 Kommentar


Deepak Mundakana
Deepak Mundakana
16. Jan. 2021

As Always such good expression through your words .. keep writing .. waiting for more ..

Gefällt mir
bottom of page