top of page
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter

The Tale of Tissues- Pondicherry


It was a chilling month and I had just finished my semester exams and had been to Bangalore. That was when my sister planned a 3 day trip. This time it was to the place which shared it’s area with 3 states: Tamil Nadu, Andra Pradesh and Kerala. Yes!! It is PONDICHERRY.


Pondicherry is a Union Territory which is the part of Indian Peninsula, says Google. So basically, Pondicherry was a French Colonial settlement until 1954 and even today we find the French architectural beauty all over its 42 wards. My sister, BIL and I started our journey in the early morning. By 7 A.M we had crossed our state boundary and by 8 A.M we stopped into TN’s famous Sri Saravana Bhavana which is popular for its South Indian cuisine. Once done with Idly, Vada, Poori, Dosas we headed to Puducherry.


By noon, driving through smooth and patched roads, we reached Pondi. We had lunch at Hotel Surguru . It’s thali tastes really good and tummy filling. After lunch, we went to our room which we booked through Airbnb. After freshening up we finally got on to roads to explore museum, which is the Puducherry Museum that is in Easwaran Kovil Street. This museum is a must visit as it contains a number of war based equipments, sculptures, painting and many many more.


Mind blown by this, we travelled to Veerapamttinam beach. It’s a calm and beautiful beach without much people around. Anyone who visits there can find a kind of satisfaction just sitting there with time. It was so relaxing and relieving.


Later in the evening when it was dark and the sea started to roar, we came back freshened up and plan to head towards some random mess to try out some simple and authentic food. But as most of the messes were either closed or crowded, went to Dilliwaala 6. But as my sister had a budgeted tour, Dilliwaala 6 was way beyond our boundary. Before we left Dilliwaala 6, I made sure to grab a glass of lassi to quench my thirst. Sadly, my day and dinner ended with a big fruit bowl.


Second day, we got ready by 8 and left to Auroville, which definitely requires a special mention, hence I am linking a separate blog from my page, Auroville- Where you hear the loudest silence. Check out if you have not read it yet ( must visit ). What I forgot to mention was the cycle race between my BIL, sister and I, where I took all the shortcuts in Auroville (Don’t ask how I know the shortcuts) and left them so behind that, my BIL thought I had lost my way and went back searching for me.Once out from Auroville, we went to Serenity beach which was chaotic and filled with people. Yet I somehow liked the vibe and the sea, even though I watched from distance.




As we had time, we decided to go on a boat ride at Chunnambar beach but by the time we reached there, the last boat had already left. It was a bit disappointing. The only food which can cure any sadness is Pizza. So we crashed at Taka Pizza and ate till we were high on cheese. Pizza was so yumm!! Pizza can cure any heartbreaks. Also as I always crave for food, my sister bought me a chocolate snicker waffle from The Belgian Waffle Co.


Third and the last day we had to visit Matrimandir, Auroville. About it is mentioned in my blog earlier. Whole day after visiting Matrimandir was so different that I had never felt something as such till that day. We left Pondicherry with sad-full face and sack-full bananas ;) .We had lunch on our way and straight away headed to my cousin’s place.We reached there by 6 P.M and had dinner. Later we picked my mum, granny and reached home, tucked into bed, slept peacefully dreaming about the next trip :D


Pondicherry is a great place to visit anytime in the year. Plan out and drive there soon. You will not regret.




P.S: I usually try to preserve something as my tour memory, so this time I collected all the tissues from each eateries I’ve eaten in. That is why my story of Pondicherry is The Tale of Tissues.


Cheerios!!


Until next time!!



Places visited: Pondicherry museum, Veerampattinam beach, Auroville(2 days), Matrimandir, Serenity beach, Chunnambar beach.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page